According to Popular Opinion

Posted: April 22, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Suicide exhibits weakness;
life was too much to handle,
so you took the coward’s way out.

That
is not
an easy way,
nor for the ill of will.
It goes against all natural instinct
born with, for survival.

Those with the crazy courage
to take that final step
into the Great Unknown,
hold my high regard.
Perhaps I am biased,
having tried and failed
repeatedly.

They say it’s selfish. I guess it is.
They tell me I’ll feel anger but
I feel none for you.
Grief so deep, I didn’t know it existed
but I’m proud of you, as well.

You dragged us all,
an unwilling, rag-tag chain gang,
into a unique club of
“Suicide Survivors” –
Made us closer as a family.

We are now VIP members
with lifetime enrollment, in a club
with a stupid name.

Comments
  1. Karla says:

    I really like this poem. I like that it’s not another sappy grief poem. It’s gritty and real and yes, it’s a club we never wanted to join.

Leave a Reply

