Leftovers

Posted: April 26, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

All I have left of you
is one long black sock,
some books, the inevitable
photographs, and
a head full of debris.

I’m still sorting through,
the aftermath of that
flood of ugly emotion,
when almost everything
I cared about
was washed away, at once.
Now I survey damaged remnants,
to salvage anything of value.

It’s not as if I haven’t
made repeated attempts
to return what’s rightfully yours.
But I believe that once I’ve tried
to give something back
more than five times,
it becomes my new possession.
Though what I’ll do with
one long, black sock
is anybody’s guess.

Maybe make a sock monkey,
and pretend it’s you.
Then I can say all the things
I wish I’d said,
while it still mattered
to either of us –
make the monkey reply
just the way I’d want you to;
like a little monkey puppet.

I might also punch it
once or twice,
just because I can.

It’s just a long black sock
turned monkey.
Who’d really give a damn?

Comments
  1. Karla says:

    Devious and delightful. I love it.

  2. Meg LeDuc says:

    Ok, I’m no professional, but what’s going on definitely sounds like emotional abuse. It’s very wrong that someone treats you this way, and you in now way deserve it. You are a good person who deserves to be treated with respect. Everybody should be treated with respect. Maybe you already know all these things, but I felt like just had to say them. I really, really hope you know these things.

  3. markbyrd says:

    May GOD Bless!!! Mark

Leave a Reply

