Insight

Posted: May 8, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Light through dark
a crack, a spark.
You ask if I’m all right.

In my head,
a too-bright ocean blooms.
Sea anemones open-close,
tiny fish dart here and there,
and then, the lurking monsters.

Am I all right?
What a thing to ask…
do I look all right to you?

Two eyes: both blue
one head, two ears;
almost two of everything –
hands, arms, legs.
Each half
mirrors the other,
but all right?
I guess I’ll say I am.

The surface gives no hint
of what goes on beneath.
I surf the sea of normalcy
with what feels like contempt.

Leave a Reply

