Looking Glass

Posted: May 23, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I watch
you
through my smokescreen
with
pale, burning eyes.
I can’t believe
I knew you
once;
a shimmer
on the lake.

You
catch my face
in glances.
Looking crepe paper streaks
to my tears.
I love you
in hatred
and hate you
in love,
then dive deeper
inside of
my black.

Offish
I stand
looking down
through the glass
that separates me
from you.
I hazard
a smile
when you look up –
For a moment
I think we might
touch.
But you
bump the glass,
the image is smeared.
And I dive
back into my black.

I carry the sign of
you
painted inside me,
in a damp, quiet part of
my brain.

I would drown it
within
when I dove to
the dark,
but
it’s an intricate part
of my pain.

Comments
  1. Karla says:

    One of my all time favorites. I know it by heart and I am glad to see it here

Leave a Reply

