Past Presented

Posted: May 23, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

We fought a lot,
some people do.
You were famous
for your temper,
I’m infamous for mine.
Although we’d parted ways,
I still considered you a friend.

We shared a love of poetry.
A complicated, passionate man;
the stereotypical tortured artist.
Your poem, Nuits Glacees
touched me deeply.
I know you loved Saguaro,
perhaps simply because
I wrote it for you.

8 years dead,
I still think of you that way:
an untapped private reservoir,
surrounded by protective thorns;
letting no one else inside.

Leave a Reply

