The Ark and The Covenant

Posted: May 31, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s a relief
to finally let you go,
though I held you
through all kinds of weather;
Shielding you like a cupped hand
‘round an ember.

I carried you on my head at times,
on especially inclement days;
made an ark of myself and
floated high on rough water
while you cowered inside,
hiding your eyes.

Now on this high peak
shored up by dry stones,
I send out that lone dove, my heart.
Over desolate waste –
water murky with death;

the bird returns clutching hope.

Comments
  1. Miriclaire says:

    This was very moving to me … lovely

Leave a Reply

