Grieving Process

Posted: July 1, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

From one day to the next
I remain
in your frozen embrace.

I am literal,
you, figurative.

Cut me,
I will bleed.
I always have for you,
my sweetest heartbreak.
This seeping ebb
stains even frozen things red.

I can’t cut myself anymore.
The knives are dull and
have been taken away.

Now I burn:
a glowering ember,
embedded in the center
of Being.

Light that doesn’t illuminate,
But burns dark holes
for me to stumble into,
as I back away from the heat.

Hot or cold
It’s always you;
inside and out.
Wearing me like a costume,
while wrapping me in
shrieking wings that bleed
their way to silence –

Profound and white
after all that crimson noise.

Photobucket

(for Ty – dead 6 months tomorrow. It seems like time has stuttered by, stopping for long periods,then speeding by & generally, making no sense.)

Audio Reading

Comments
  1. heather says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Such a strong and emotional poem. Beautiful as always!

    • Thanks Heather. I keep waiting for it to get easier, but that doesn’t seem to be happening. I guess the grieving process for suicide is different, or so I hear. Blech, either way!

Leave a Reply

