Bark With Some Bite

Posted: July 13, 2010 in Flower Series, My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

snapdragons

All in line, they droop
beneath a beaten copper sun;
vibrant hued but sleepy.

Snapdragons, with their lazy heads,
will only bite when pinched.

They look fierce, their jaws agape,
but haven’t any teeth.
Even a bite from such a creature,
won’t scratch, much less, dismember.

Rest until provoked,
yellow tongues inside their heads,
they pretend to sleep as peacefully
as the daisies do, next door.

They, unlike the daisies,
have too much on their minds.
Discontent and irritable,
they long to pull roots from soil;
march somewhere far away.

Snapdragons, as a rule,
are never content where they are;
when yellow, they envy magenta.
Never too tired to be restless,
they bow their heads, feign sleep.

Until the children come along
and each, in turn, is pinched.
They come alive then, biting
with savage pretend fury,
relieved to have some action
in their otherwise boring lives.

Header1

Comments
  1. Karla says:

    This is such a different type of poem for you and I absolutely love it. I love everything about it. Thank you so much for sharing it!

    • There is an entire series I’ve been working on “behind the scenes”. I needed to get my mind off all the death surrounding me from everywhere and I love my flowers. I have tons of pictures of them on my phone, so I thought, “Hey, why not!” I will post a new one every day. Hope you enjoy the entire series 🙂

Leave a Reply

