Coffin Man

Posted: October 9, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

They’ve painted you
to look like
someone I’ve
long time loved.

Nothing more
substantial than
a brittle, dried out hull.

Careful caricature,
you cannot
fool me.

Always smiling,
never still;
My friend is
not like you,
hollow shell
with nobody inside.

Part II

Legacy

I miss you,
You’ve gone away
to some forbidden city,
casual with the grief
you leave behind.

Dreams of you
fragment my sleep,
knocking at my door:
That thing
from the coffin,

Not you anymore.

I am angry at
your leaving me.
You didn’t say good-bye,
I have so many things to say,
if I had known.

I am a victim
of you, friend.
I don’t sleep at night;
instead lie here
and think of you.

Your hands
looked just the same.

Comments
  1. “They’ve painted you
    to look like
    someone I’ve
    long time loved.”

    nothing more painful than a mirage.
    great poem! xx

Leave a Reply

