Locked Out

Posted: October 9, 2010 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You’ve taken back
the love you gave
and speak
a different language.
It’s a language
I’ve heard before,
I can even make out words
in the guttural snarls
coming from your lips.

Lips I’ve kissed before,
I now fear.
They have the power
to annihilate me.
Your voice can be so cruel.
Cold and angry,
it screams
the word “hate”
without ever saying
that syllable.

I recognize hate
in all its forms;
I am its student too.

Your brown eyes,
once so hot
on my skin;
hungry,
loving, warm,
have frozen
into tight round spots,
like ice over a puddle:
cold, reflective,
keeping everything
away from me.
All emotion
locked inside.

I am, once again,
on the outside
looking in.

Comments
  1. bitter and beautiful, like broken ice.

    “I recognize hate
    in all of its forms;
    I am its student too.”

    aren’t we all? we all want the power to know how to hate and know how to love. to love again.

    “I am, once again,
    on the outside
    looking in.”

    what a way to end it all. a one-liner, my dear. love it!! 🙂
    xx

Leave a Reply

