Maybe Someday

Posted: April 11, 2011 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Memories will fade.
Your face, become
blurred and indistinct.

Maybe you will lose
your grip on my heart;
tight squeeze
of a soul in bondage.

I might forget
eyes showering sparks,
twin-blaze of blue flame;
delicious sound
of your uncontrolled
laughter.

I carry you
with me wherever I go,
even in my sleep.
Folded tight inside
mind and heart,
like a crumpled note.
Tissue thin
from being read
so often.

Maybe
someday
I will forget
you’re part of me
the way I forget
I have a spleen –
don’t even know
where to find it.

For now,
I will bear your memory
like a treasured gift:
a thing of inestimable value.
Carry it carefully,
gently.

Fragile egg of love
protected only by
the thin shell of memory.

Creature inside,
a shadow-life;
best seen by candlelight.

Comments
  1. bex says:

    beautiful and sad.

Leave a Reply

