Smoking as an Act of Violence

Posted: April 23, 2011 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

In the casual flick
of an ash,

bright gleam
of flame,

lie hate
and anger.

Violence
to my body
I’d do anyway
by other means.

Mesmerizing glow
defies
even my lifelong desire
to hurt myself:

mark permanently
into my skin,
all the feelings
I can’t express.

So I inhale
and exhale,
knowing each
breath
is a death sentence

for an asthmatic,
already struggling
to breathe –
to live life
like a human.

I no longer
staple my skin
leaving bloody marks
like fangs.

I don’t burn
or cut,
but I smoke
for the same reason.

The ash
I contemplate
today,
will be the drug
that kills me
tomorrow.

Comments
  1. bluebee says:

    Stark self-reflection in those words, Coin & Feather

  2. Steve says:

    Straight from the heart! If it keeps the mind away from self harm I say YAY to smoking 🙂 *punching the air*

Leave a Reply

