What It Feels Like To Be Me

Posted: May 14, 2011 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Like a wire
in my head,
slowly twisting
tight.

Like a shove
between my shoulder-blades,
as I try to flee the night.

Like a faucet dripping
in the hollow of my chest;
restless echo, tapping
in between my breasts.

Like a bright red
sneaker,
at a black-tie affair;

like a balloon caught
on an updraft
of cold air.

Always where
I shouldn’t be;
never where I should.

I’d live life
like I’m supposed to
if I thought I could.

 

 

Comments
  1. bluebee says:

    A struggling life beautifully expressed, Coin & Feather – “Like a bright red
    sneaker, at a black-tie affair;” – a perfectly apposite image

  2. Steve says:

    Lovely poem – read this 2 or 3 times 😉 – lovely rhythm !!

Leave a Reply

