The Way Home

Posted: July 5, 2011 in My Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The monitor
picks up
my father’s breathing,
the occasional moan, a cough,
some swearing.

Dying is not easy.
It’s hard on him.
It’s hard on us.

Watch him wither
like a flower, cut;

first drooping,
now drying out –
becoming something else.

He wavers
in and out
of focus
like a star
too dim to clearly see.

Muttered halves
of conversations
held with people
invisible to me.

I wonder what he sees
when his eyes
turn blank
to this world.

He comes back,
eventually.
Asks for a cola,
maybe ice cream.

The simple pleasures
of childhood.

Then he turns,
curls back to that place
of lucid dreaming.
Eyes open,
but unfocused.

Like a brittle husk,
he’s mummifying
while I watch,
helpless
to stop the process.

I wouldn’t if I could.
He wants what he sees
when his eyes dim
to this world.

It must be something
good.

Comments
  1. bluebee says:

    You have captured the sense of witnessing the suffering of those we love as being both terrifying and edifying – ‘ becoming something else’ is beyond what the mind can handle

  2. jjvioletpoet says:

    Very moving. I like how you included ice cream and cola in this poem because I think it brings up a good point that life is about the simple pleasures.

Leave a Reply

